The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler   •   Longview   •   Palestine
A centerpiece for learning,
culture and natural beauty
Random Image Alt Text

Office of the President

Dr. Rodney H. Mabry

Dr. Rod H. Mabry Dr. Rodney H. Mabry became the third president of The University of Texas at Tyler, appointed by the U.T. System Board of Regents July 1, 1998.

President Mabry's higher education experience spans more than 39 years. He served as dean of the business college at the University of Tulsa (1994-1998) just prior to taking his UT Tyler post. He was the department chair and professor of finance at Clemson University (1984-1994), and head of the department of economics and finance at the University of Louisiana-Monroe (1979-1984). He began his career on the economics faculty at Clemson (1973-1979) and, while there, served two years as a field research associate for the Brookings Institution in Washington.

President Mabry, who is also the Dr. Ben R. Fisch Professor of Economics and Finance at UT Tyler, has been active in professional organizations throughout his career. He currently serves as treasurer of the Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors (CPUPC) and is on the board of the Texas International Education Consortium (TIEC). As a member of the American Southwest Athletic Conference (ASC), he serves on the ASC's governing board. More...

Related Videos


More Information

  • UT Tyler Mission Statement

    The University of Texas at Tyler is a comprehensive institution of higher education offering undergraduate and graduate degree programs as an institution of the renowned University of Texas System. Read more