The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler   •   Longview   •   Palestine
A centerpiece for learning,
culture and natural beauty
Random Image Alt Text

UT Tyler School of Education

TExES Preparation Sessions

UT Tyler requires that all students in the teacher preparation program take six hours of TExES preparation outside of program coursework. Students in Phase II or Block 2 must take 3 hours of TExES preparation in order to be eligible to advance to the next semester of the teacher education program. Students in Phase III or Block 3 must take the final 3 hours of TExES preparation in order to advance to Student Teaching/Apprentice Teaching.

Online Sessions:

There are online sessions available on the T-CERT website (https://pact.tarleton.edu/TCERT/). This website has resources for the PPR and also many content area exams. You are able to participate in online preparation as part of your required TExES preparation sessions. If you participate in an online TExES preparation session, make sure to email or bring a copy of your certification of completion to Mrs. Harris in BEP 247H.

Face-to-Face Sessions:

The School of Education provides face-to-face sessions to help prepare you for the Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities (PPR) TExES exam. We have a faculty coordinator of TExES Preparation, Ms. Berni Hansen.

The following dates are for 2014-2015.

Watch your Patriot email, announcements through the Testing_and_Certification Blackboard Organization as well as the SOE Facebook Page for updated information! 

Fall Term:

Wednesday, September 10, 2014 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. BEP 215
Thursday, September 11, 2014 4:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. BEP 215
Friday, September 12, 2014 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. BEP 218
Wednesday, October 15, 2014 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. BEP 215
Thursday, October 16, 2014 4:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. BEP 215
Friday, October 17, 2014 9:00 am. – 12:00 p.m. BEP 218
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. BEP 215
Thursday, November 13, 2014 4:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. BEP 215
Friday, November 14, 2014 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. BEP 218
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. BEP 215
Thursday, December 4, 2014 4:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. BEP 215
Friday, December 5, 2014 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. BEP 213

Spring Term:

Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. TBA
Thursday, February 12, 2015 4:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. TBA
Friday, February 13, 2015 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. TBA
Wednesday, March 18, 2015 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. TBA
Thursday, March 19, 2015 4:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. TBA
Friday, March 20, 2015 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. TBA
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. TBA
Thursday, April 16, 2015 4:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. TBA
Friday, April 17, 2015 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. TBA
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 11:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. TBA
Thursday, May 7, 2015 4:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. TBA
Friday, May 8, 2015 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. TBA

A record of attendance will be kept for each face-to-face session.  Report promptly at the beginning of the session and sign the attendance log provided. Your signature is confirmation of your attendance at the session.

©