The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler   •   Longview   •   Palestine
A centerpiece for learning,
culture and natural beauty
Random Image Alt Text

University Assessment Committee

Office of Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness

Responsibilities of the University Assessment Committee include:

  • Supports the mission of the University by providing guidance, coordination and support for the on-going assessment of institutional effectiveness.
  • Makes recommendations regarding implementation and continuous improvement of the University's assessment program.
  • The University Assessment Committee is responsible for monitoring assessment plans and the annual assessment activities of all units and programs in order to make recommendations for improvements.
  • Reports to the Provost.
  • Provides a report to faculty senate on items, which directly affect faculty and academic governance in April.
University Assessment Committee Bylaws

2014-15 Committee Charge:

  • Promote assessment through training and education
  • Communicate the assessment goals of the university to all areas (academic and administrative)
  • Assist with the submission of assessment plans and process results
  • Conduct the review process of plans and results
  • Make recommendations to the Provost regarding results submitted

2014-15 Members

Name Class Role College/Department
Lou Ann Berman Standing Chair

Assistant VP Assessment & Institutional Effectiveness

Barbara Haas 2012-2015 Member College of Nursing & Health Sciences
Wesley Hickey 2012-2015 Member College of Education & Psychology
Roger Lirely 2013-2016 Member College of Business & Technology
Dennis Cali 2013-2016 Member College of Arts & Science
Sara McCaslin 2014-2017 Member College of Engineering 
Doug Ried 2014-2017 Member College of Pharmacy
William Geiger 2013-2016 Member Assistant Dean of the Graduate School
Jeanne Standley   Ex-Officio Director, University Libraries
Shari Koukl   Ex-Officio Office of Institutional Analysis
Carrie Clayton   Ex-Officio Associate VP for Business Affairs
Ona Tolliver   Ex-Officio Assistant VP for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Jason Smee   Ex-Officio Chair, Core Curriculum Subcommittee